Saturday, 21 May 2011


Mathura is a city in the North Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is located approximately 50 km north of Agra, and 145 km south-east of Delhi; about 11 kilometers from the town of Vrindavan and 22 kilometers from Govardhan. It is the administrative centre of Mathura District of Uttar Pradesh. During the ancient period, Mathura was an economic hub, located at the junction of important caravan routes.

Mathura is the birthplace of Lord Krishna at the centre of Braj or Brij-bhoomi, called Shri Krishna Janma-Bhoomi, literally: 'Lord Krishna's birth place'.

The Keshav Dev temple was built in ancient times on the site of Krishna's legendary birthplace (an underground prison). According to the Mahabharata and Bhagavata Purana epics, Mathura was the capital of the Surasena Kingdom, ruled by Kansa the maternal uncle of Krishna.

Places to See: Mathura


Jai gurudev Ashram - Naam Yog Sadhna Mandir

Dwarikadheesh Temple

Durvasa Rishi Ashram

Sri Keshavji Gaudiya Matha

Vishram Ghat

Rangeshwar Mahadev Mandir

Bhooteshwar Mahadev Mandir

Mathura museum

Places to See: Vrindavan

A very famous twin-city to Mathura is Vrindavan. As the home of Lord Krishna in his youth, the small town is host to a multitude of temples belonging to various sects of Hinduism proclaiming Lord Krishna in various forms and Avatars. Some of the most famous temples are Banke Bihari Temple, Rang ji Temple and Iskcon Temple.

Govardhan hill






Baldeo Dauji

Radha Kund

Nidhi Van


No comments:

Post a Comment

Backlinks to my website?